Permanent Faculty

Susanna Elm

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies and History, Sidney H. Ehrman Professor of European History
elm@berkeley.edu

History of the later Roman Empire, East and West


Giovanni R. F. (John) Ferrari

Melpomene Distinguished Professor of Classical Languages and Literature, Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies
gferrari@berkeley.edu
Fall 2022 Thursday 10:30-12, zoom only (contact instructor for link)

Ancient Philosophy (especially Plato), Aesthetics


Christopher Hallett

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies and Art History
chrishallett@berkeley.edu
Doe 418
WF 3-4, and by appointment

Roman sculpture, Aphrodisias excavations, Roman Egypt


Todd Hickey

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Director of the Center for the Tebtunis Papyri
tmhickey@berkeley.edu
489 Bancroft Library
Office hours by appointment.

Papyrology, Late Antiquity, cultural heritage ethics


Leslie Kurke

Gladys Rehard Wood Chancellor's Chair, Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies and Comparative Literature
kurke@berkeley.edu

Greek literature and cultural history


Duncan MacRae

Associate Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies
duncanmacrae@berkeley.edu
Dwinelle 7213
On leave from teaching 2022-2023

Roman history; ancient religions, including Second Temple Judaism and early Christianity


Maria Mavroudi

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies and History
mavroudi@berkeley.edu

Byzantine studies


Kathleen McCarthy

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Graduate Advisor
kmccarth@berkeley.edu
7221 Dwinelle (Zoom meeting number 250-009-2791)
Tues 12-2

Roman poetry, especially comedy, lyric, and elegy


Trevor Murphy

Associate Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Undergraduate Advisor Fall 2021
tmmurphy@berkeley.edu
7220 Dwinelle
Mon. & Tues. 10-11 am

Ellen Oliensis

Klio Distinguished Professor of Classical Languages and Literature, Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies and Comparative Literature
eolien@berkeley.edu
off hrs: Tu 2-3.30 in 7211 Dwinelle, and by appointment (zoom or in person)

Roman literature, esp. Augustan poetry


Nikolaos Papazarkadas

Nicholas C. Petris Professor of Greek Studies, Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Director of the Aleshire Center for the Study of Greek Epigraphy
papazarkadas@berkeley.edu
Monday 12-2 (or email me in advance and I will send you a Zoom link if you prefer)

Greek history and epigraphy (Athens and Attica, Boeotia, Cyclades, Peloponnese); Athenian archaeology and topography; history of scholarship.


J. Theodore Peña

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies
tpena@berkeley.edu
Wednesday 3:00-4:00 PM; Thursday 3:30-4:30 PM (both in person and via Zoom at 520954 5250); and by appointment.

Roman archaeology; Roman Italy; material culture; ceramics; Pompeii.


James Porter

Irving Stone Chair in Literature, Distinguished Professor of Rhetoric and Ancient Greek & Roman Studies
jiporter@berkeley.edu
354B Dwinelle
see the Rhetoric Department website for details

Literature and philosophy, critical theory, classicism and postclassicism


Dylan Sailor

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Department Chair
dsailor@berkeley.edu
7214 Dwinelle Hall
Fall 2022: T 2-3, Th 3-4, and by appointment

Latin literature, ancient historiography


Kim Shelton

Associate Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies / Director, Nemea Center for Classical Archaeology
sheltonk@berkeley.edu
Zoom: https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/5362925088
By appointment

Classical Archaeology, with a focus on the prehistoric Aegean


Mario Telò

Professor of Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Rhetoric, and Comparative Literature; participating member in the Critical Theory DE
mtelo@berkeley.edu
Wednesday 2-5

Greek literature, ancient drama and its reception, critical theory

Professors of the Graduate School

Mark Griffith

Klio Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Classical Languages and Literature, Professor of Classics and of TDPS (Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies)
markg@berkeley.edu
7215 Dwinelle
Wednesdays 3-4pm (Fall 2022)

Greek literature and performance


Anthony Long

Chancellor's Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Classics and Irving G. Stone Professor Emeritus of Literature
aalong@berkeley.edu
7218 Dwinelle
Fall 2021 Tuesdays at 3.00

Greek and Roman Philosophy, Greek Literature


Donald J. Mastronarde

Melpomene Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Classical Languages and Literature
djmastronarde@berkeley.edu
7219 Dwinelle Hall

For some biographical details and links to my CV and various projects, please visit my home page.


Andrew Stewart

Chancellor's Professor and Professor of the Graduate School; Nicholas C. Petris Professor of Greek Studies Emeritus
astewart@berkeley.edu
412 Doe Library

Greek and Roman art and archaeology; Greek sculpture; Athenian Agora; Renaissance and later reception of ancient art and architecture

Affiliated Faculty

Daniela Cammack

Political Science
daniela.cammack@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek democracy; ancient Greek, Roman, and modern political ideas and practices


Timothy Clarke

Philosophy
tclarke@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek philosophy, especially Aristotle


Andrew Garrett

Linguistics
garrett@berkeley.edu

Karuk and Yurok (languages of northern CA); early Indo-European languages, esp. Greek, Latin, and languages belonging to the Anatolian branch


Kinch Hoekstra

Political Science and Law
hoekstra@berkeley.edu

History of political, moral, and legal thought, especially ancient, renaissance, and early modern political philosophy


Emily Mackil

History, AHMA
emackil@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek social, political, and economic history


Ramona Naddaff

Rhetoric
naddaff@berkeley.edu

Ancient Greek philosophy, rhetoric, and poetics


Carlos Norena

History, AHMA
norena@berkeley.edu

Ancient Roman world, esp. political and cultural history c. 200 BCE–400 CE; historical geography of the Roman empire; comparative ancient empires.

Visiting Faculty and Lecturers

7307 Dwinelle Hall
Mon 4-6 and by appointment

Women and Social Identity in the Greek House, Domestic Archaeology and Greek Ceramics, Social Identity Formation, The Iconography of Women in the Domestic Space, Greek Sculpture and Vase Painting


Kristina Chew

Lecturer
kjchew@berkeley.edu
Dwinelle 7307

translation, Asian American reception of ancient Greek and Roman literature, ancient Greek and Latin pedagogy, disability studies, online teaching


ysyed@berkeley.edu

Participating Emeriti

gruene@berkeley.edu

Robert Knapp

Professor
rcknapp@berkeley.edu
none

Roman Spain, Latin epigraphy, ancient numismatics, Roman social history, early Christianity, Michigan history